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RESTITUTION
RESPONSIBILITIES
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CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM



The California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP) and 
the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation 
(CDCR) created this guide to help offenders navigate the  
process of paying their restitution. Created in 1965, CalVCP 
helps victims of crime pay for crime-related bills and is funded 
by restitution fines and orders.
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WHAT IS A RESTITUTION ORDER?

Restitution is your repayment, as an offender, to cover 
financial losses caused by your criminal activity. Restitution 
is ordered at the time of your sentencing and is read aloud 
in court along with your sentence. There are two types of 
restitution: orders and fines. The court can order both types of 
restitution in the same case. If you are found guilty in multiple 
cases, the court can order restitution in each case. If your  
parole or probation is revoked, you will also have to pay the 
parole or probation revocation fine that is equal to the origi-
nal fine amount.

A restitution order is your debt, as an offender, to the victim. 
The court issues a restitution order for crime-related losses 
that may include: stolen cash or property, medical bills, car 
repair bills, funeral expenses or other costs. The law requires 
the judge to order you to pay the entire amount of the vic-
tim’s expenses. There is no maximum amount for this type of 
restitution. You cannot negotiate the amount and the order 
cannot be waived if you don’t have the ability to pay. 

If you are sentenced before the victim’s losses are determined, 
the judge can order restitution at a later date. Once the victim 
determines their expenses, the judge will order you to pay 
that amount. In addition, you may also be responsible for the 
expenses of the victim’s family, such as counseling expenses 
or funeral costs.

WHAT IS RESTITUTION?
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IS A RESTITUTION ORDER A LIFE-LONG DEBT?

WHERE DOES THE MONEY FROM THE  
RESTITUTION ORDER GO?

Yes, a restitution order does not go away until it is paid. You 
will still owe restitution even if you declare bankruptcy. Any 
unpaid restitution will be sent to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 
for collection.

The money you pay toward a restitution order goes to the 
victim to pay for the losses caused by your criminal offense(s). 
However, when the California Victim Compensation Program 
(CalVCP) has already paid for the victim’s losses, the judge will 
order you to repay CalVCP to cover the cost of the expenses. 
CalVCP uses this money to help other victims. 

WHAT IS A RESTITUTION FINE?
A restitution fine is your debt, as the offender, to society. 
The fine is part of your rehabilitation. State law requires all 
offenders to pay a restitution fine. When you are sentenced, 
the judge will require you to pay a restitution fine within a set 
dollar range, depending on the date and type of crime. 

•	 Adult misdemeanor convictions – a minimum of $150 		
	 and a maximum of $1,000

•	 Adult felony convictions – a minimum of $300 and a 		
	 maximum of $10,000

•	 Juvenile misdemeanors – a maximum of $100 

•	 Juvenile felonies – a minimum of $100 and a maximum 		
	 of $1,000

When a restitution fine for more than the minimum amount 
is under consideration, the judge will look at the seriousness 
of your crime, the victim’s losses and your ability to pay. Even 
if you cannot pay now, the judge will consider your future 
earning potential. 
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The money you pay toward a restitution fine goes into the 
State’s Restitution Fund, an important funding source for 
CalVCP. The program helps victims of violent crime pay for 
bills that result from the crime, including, but not limited to: 
medical, dental, mental health treatment, funeral and burial 
expenses and income or support loss. CalVCP can also pro-
vide financial assistance to family members of crime victims.

How you pay your restitution may vary depending on the 
county where your crime was committed and/or depending 
on the type of crime. Restitution may be collected by one of 
the following departments or agencies: 

•	 Court

•	 Probation Department

•	 County Revenue                                              	
	 Departments

•	 Collection agencies

•	 Parole agents

•	 Division of Adult Parole 		
	 Operations (DAPO)

HOW DO I PAY MY RESTITUTION  
ORDERS AND FINES?

WHERE DOES THE MONEY FROM THE
RESTITUTION FINE GO?

•	 Local jail or juvenile hall

•	 FTB

•	 CDCR

•	 CDCR’s Division of Juvenile 	
	 Justice (DJJ)

•	 Victim Compensation and 	
	 Government Claims Board 	
	 (which governs CalVCP)
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Under normal circumstances, you will either make payment 
arrangements with your probation officer, or, the judge will 
determine your payment amounts as part of the court order. 
Payments are usually made to the probation office, a court  
collection unit or the county’s office of revenue and recovery. 
If you are placed on probation, the payment of restitution 
fines and orders may be made a term of your probation.

WHAT IF I AM PLACED ON PROBATION?

If you are sentenced to prison, CDCR will collect restitution pay-
ments. Each month, they will garnish 50 percent of any deposits 
made to your prison trust account, including, money sent in by 
family or friends or wages earned while you are in prison. 

CDCR collects a 10 percent administration fee on restitution 
collections; however, if you make voluntary payments to-
ward your restitution obligations while you are in prison, 
CDCR will provide a courtesy waiver of the 10 percent fee. 
You or your family may make voluntary restitution payments 
at any time. Make sure your CDC number is included with the 
payment and states that it is “for restitution only.” 

The Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) may look at your 
restitution payment history as one factor, among many, when 
determining whether to grant or deny parole. 

WHAT IF I AM SENTENCED TO PRISON?
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You may also send money electronically through one of the 
following companies: Jpay (www.jpay.com) or Access Secure 
Deposits (www.inmatedeposits.com).

CDCR Trust Accounting
P.O. Box 276088
Sacramento, CA 95827

Payments can be made toward the restitution obligations that 
were part of your state prison sentence by sending a check, 
cashier’s check or money order to CDCR at the address pro-
vided below. It is very important to note your CDC number on 
any payments made to the CDCR Trust Accounting office. 

AFTER I AM RELEASED FROM PRISON, HOW DO  
I MAKE PAYMENTS TOWARD MY RESTITUTION  
OBLIGATIONS?

WHILE I AM ON POST-RELEASE COMMUNITY  
SUPERVISION (PRCS), WHICH AGENCY  
RECEIVES MY PAYMENTS?
Each county is authorized to designate a collection agency that 
will collect restitution payments when someone is released 
on PRCS via Penal Code 2085.6. However, not all counties are 
actively pursuing collection at this time for various reasons. 
CDCR also has the legal authority to pursue collection from 
PRCS offenders. It is important that you speak with your 
probation officer to determine which agency has been  
designated for collection at the county level. If you have 
been released on PRCS, CDCR will still refer your case to FTB 
for collection unless otherwise notified by the county.

If you have questions on payments, contact CDCR at  
877.256.6877 and press 1 for restitution collection.
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Yes, CDCR refers all cases with restitution orders to FTB for 
collection after the offender is released from prison. Res-
titution fines are sent to FTB by CalVCP. However, any vol-
untary payments made toward your restitution obligations 
will reduce the amount you owe once your case is referred 
to FTB. By paying before your case goes to FTB, you can 
avoid paying an additional 15 percent processing fee.

WILL CDCR REFER MY CASE TO FTB FOR  
COLLECTION EVEN IF I AM MAKING 
VOLUNTARY PAYMENTS?

You can contact CDCR’s OVSRS at 877.256.6877, press 1 for 
restitution collection and ask to speak to an adult restitution 
analyst for balance information and to find out the current 
status of your restitution obligations. 

CDCR refers all cases with outstanding victim restitution 
balances to FTB 90 days after release from prison.

WHO DO I CALL TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH  
RESTITUTION I OWE AND WHETHER IT HAS 
BEEN SENT TO FTB?
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•	 Failure to make your restitution payments may be a 		
	 violation of the terms and conditions of your probation.

•	 If you do not pay your restitution fine and/or order, money 		
	 may be garnished from your paycheck or bank account.

•	 If you are a juvenile offender and do not pay your 			 
	 restitution in full, you will not receive an honorable  
	 discharge from DJJ. In addition, the judge may deny your 		
	 request to remove your conviction from your record.

•	 When you are discharged from prison, any outstanding 		
	 restitution you still owe will be referred to FTB for collection.

You must pay all outstanding restitution fines and orders  
before you are allowed to leave the state. For more information, 
call CDCR’s OVSRS at 877.256.6877 and press 1 for restitution.

WHAT IF I AM CURRENTLY ON PAROLE AND 
WANT TO MOVE OUT OF STATE?

WHAT HAPPENS IF I DON’T PAY?
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•	 You or your family may make voluntary payments at 		
	 any time. If you make voluntary payments, you will 		
	 avoid administrative fees.

•	 If you are employed with the Free Venture Program, 		
	 20 percent of your wages will automatically be deducted.

•	 If you are placed in an institution, half of your incoming 		
	 deposits, including ward pay, will be deducted from your 		
	 trust account to pay your restitution fines and orders.

•	 If you are employed while on parole, your parole agent will 		
	 establish a payment plan.

Yes, a parent or guardian who has joint or sole legal and 
physical custody of a minor offender may be responsible 
for the minor’s restitution obligations, including, all orders, 
fines and penalty assessments. 

If parents or guardians cannot afford to pay restitution, 
they must show the judge proof. If they cannot pay at that 
time, the judge will consider the parents’ or guardians’ 
future earning potential.

IF I AM A MINOR, ARE MY PARENTS OR  
GUARDIANS RESPONSIBLE FOR MY  
RESTITUTION OBLIGATIONS?

If you are sent to a DJJ institution, there are four ways you can 
pay your restitution.

WHAT IF I AM SENT TO CDCR’S DJJ?
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California Victim  
Compensation Program
P.O. Box 3036
Sacramento California 95812-3036
800.777.9229
www.calvcp.ca.gov

Deaf and hard of hearing: Please call the
California Relay Service at 711.

California Department of Corrections 
and Rehabilitation 
Office of Victim and Survivor  
Rights and Services: 
P.O. Box 942883
Sacramento, CA 94283-0001
877.256.6877
www.cdcr.ca.gov/victims

rev. 4.12.2016


