CalVCB FAQ: Expenses

What types of expenses may be eligible for reimbursement?

CalVCB may reimburse the following expenses if they are necessary due to a crime and if there are no other sources of reimbursement available such as health insurance, worker's compensation or other benefits. Caps or limits may apply.

What expenses are not eligible for reimbursement?

CalVCB cannot reimburse applicants for the following expenses:

What are the limits on assistance?

Assistance is limited to the amount of out-of-pocket expenses or bills incurred by or on behalf of the victim or applicant that have not been reimbursed by other sources such as insurance, and the amount of lost wages or loss of support (based on the victim's income) if that benefit is applicable.

The limits of various types of benefits are described below. For applications filed on or after January 1, 2001, the maximum amount that can be reimbursed is $63,000. For applications filed on or after January 1, 2017, the maximum amount that can be reimbursed is $70,000.

California law authorizes the Board to establish maximum rates and service limitations for reimbursement of medical and medical-related services and for mental health and counseling services. Currently, CalVCB has established the following rate limits for medical, medical-related and mental health services:

Medical and Dental Services:

Mental Health Services:

For a complete overview of the Board's current and past rates visit our provider information page.

What if I have reimbursements from other sources?

CalVCB can only reimburse qualified expenses that have not or will not be paid by any other source such as health insurance, workers compensation, MediCal, or other benefits. By law, CalVCB is the "payer of last resort." If any other sources of reimbursement are available for the applicant's crime-related losses, they must be used before CalVCB payment can be made. Other reimbursement sources that may be available include, but are not limited to:

Applicants are responsible for informing CalVCB of all available reimbursement sources for their losses. Applicants must repay CalVCB for any payments for which it was later determined they were not eligible.

Does CalVCB have the right to be reimbursed if another source pays later on?

According to California law, CalVCB can only reimburse victims for crime-related expenses if there are no other sources of reimbursement. If CalVCB reimburses a victim for losses, but another source of funds becomes available because of the same criminal incident, CalVCB is entitled to be reimbursed.

To learn more about the requirements for repaying victim compensation when another source of reimbursement has become available (i.e. workers' compensation, vehicle insurance or lawsuit settlement, etc.), see CalVCB's Responsibility for Repayment of Victim Funds page.

The state is entitled to recover the amount of assistance granted to a victim out of any recovery by or on behalf of the victim from any third party liable for the victim's losses. This right is secured by a statutory lien against the recovery (Government Code § 13963). The state is also entitled to recover the amount of assistance granted out of any form of workers' compensation (Labor Code § 4903(h)). CalVCB's application includes a notice of the state's lien and recovery rights.

Return to Frequently Asked Questions