The California Victim Compensation Program
The California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP) can help pay bills and expenses that result from certain violent crimes. Victims of crime who have been injured or have been threatened with injury may be eligible for help.
CalVCP Helpline: 1-800-777-9229 (phone) | 1-866-902-8669 (fax)
For victim assistance in your area, find your local Victim Witness Assistance Center.Esta página en Español »
Who Qualifies for Victim Compensation?
CalVCP can help victims of crimes such as:
- Domestic Violence
- Child Abuse
- Sexual Assault
- Elder Abuse
- Drunk Driving
- Vehicular Manslaughter
- Hate Crimes
Minors who suffer emotional injuries as a result of witnessing a violent crime may be eligible for up to $5,000 for mental health counseling through CalVCP.
CalVCP can help victims of crimes that occur in California as well as California residents who become victims while visiting other states or outside the country.
Additionally, people who suffer a monetary loss because of death or injury to a crime victim may also be eligible for compensation. These victims can include:
- Spouses or Domestic Partners
- Legal Guardians
To learn more, see our Eligibility page.
What Expenses Can CalVCP Help Pay?
CalVCP may help pay for expenses related to a crime such as:
- Medical and dental treatment
- Mental health services
- Income loss
- Funeral and burial expenses
- Loss of support for dependents when a victim is killed or disabled because of a crime
- Home or vehicle modifications
- Home security
- Crime scene cleanup
CalVCP cannot pay for any expense not related to the crime, any expenses paid by insurance or another source of reimbursement or coverage, expenses for lost, stolen or damaged property, or damages for pain and suffering.
There are limits on how much can be paid for each loss.
The program cannot pay any expense for a person who is on felony probation, on parole, in county jail or prison.
To learn more, see our Covered Expenses page.
How Do I Apply for Compensation?
There are four ways to apply:
- Contact the local Victim Witness Assistance Center in your county. A victim advocate at the Center can help victims complete and submit the application. The victim advocate can also help victims learn more about the criminal justice system.
- Call CalVCP at (800) 777-9229
- Download an application from our How to Apply page
- E-mail CalVCP at firstname.lastname@example.org
When Submitting an Application, Remember:
- Include copies of crime reports, bills and receipts with the application.
- Send copies of bills to the insurance company, workers' compensation carrier, or Medi-Cal right away. CalVCP will correspond with such providers as needed to verify benefits and coordinate payment of bills.
To apply, see our How to Apply page.
For Service Providers
If you provide services to crime victims, see our Provider section.
For Victim Advocates
If you are a victim advocate, see our Advocate section.
Read the CalVCP Connection Blog
By Shaina Brown, Public Affairs and Communications Associate, California Coalition Against Sexual Assault
As we close out Domestic Violence Awareness Month, I am moved to remember that our work never stops. Domestic Violence Awareness Month, like Sexual Assault Awareness Month, does not have a shelf life of 30 days. The work of advocates, the experiences of survivors, and the dedication of state agencies is not limited to one month a year. Rather, we are dedicated to ending violence 365 days a year.