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c. [883.52] Ability To Pay
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Deceased Victim
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(h) [883.66] Interest
(i) [883.67] Attorneys’ Fees
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(2) [883.81] Amount Initially Uncertain
(3) [883.82] Comparative Negligence
(4) [883.83] Delegating Restitution Determination
(5) [883.84] Relation of Restitution Order to Probation
(6) [883.85] Relation of Restitution Order to
Restitution Fund
(7) [883.86] Order Imposing Joint and Several
Liability
(8) [883.87] Moadification of Restitution Orders
g. Enforcement
(1) [883.88] Satisfaction of Victim Restitution Before
Other Court-Ordered Debt
(2) [883.89] Income Deduction Orders
(3) [883.90] Order To Apply Specified Portion of
Income to Restitution
(4) [883.91] Collection of Restitution by CDCR and
DJJ
(5) [883.92] Collection of Restitution From County
Jail Prisoners
(6) [883.93] No Imprisonment To Satisfy Restitution
Order
(7) [883.94] Restitution Centers
(8) [883.95] Financial Disclosure
(9) [883.96] Applying Seized Assets to Restitution
h. [883.97] Juvenile Offenders
i. [883.98] Remand for Resentencing
3. [883.99] Restitution as Condition of Probation
a. [883.100] Hit-and-Run and DUI Cases
b. [883.101] Concealing, Selling, or Withholding Stolen
Property
4. Restitution Based on Dismissed and Uncharged Counts:
Harvey Waivers
a. [883.102] General Principles
b. [883.103] Burden of Proof
c. [883.104] Relation to Probation
5. [883.105] Restitution Based on Conduct Resulting in

Acquittal
IV. FORMS
A. [883.106] Judicial Council Form: Order for Victim
Restitution

B. [883.107] Judicial Council Form: Instructions: Order for
Victim Restitution
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C. [883.108] Judicial Council Form: Abstract of Judgment—
Restitution

D. [883.109] Judicial Council Form—Instructions: Abstract
of Judgment—Raestitution

E. [883.110] Judicial Council Form: Defendant’s Statement
of Assets

F. [883.111] Judicial Council Form: Information Regarding
Income Deduction Order

G. [883.112] Judicial Council Form: Order for Income
Deduction

H. [883.113] Judicial Council Form: Form Interrogatories—
Crime Victim Restitution

I. [883.114] Sample Written Form: Order to Probation
Department in Regard to Collection of
Restitution

V. [883.115] INFORMATION ABOUT THE CALIFORNIA
VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM (CalVCP)

VI. [883.116] INFORMATION ABOUT THE CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS AND
REHABILITATION RESTITUTION COLLECTION
PROGRAM

I. [§83.1] SCOPE OF BENCHGUIDE

This benchguide provides an overview of the law and procedure
relating to restitution fines, fees, and orders in adult, juvenile, and diver-
sion matters. Sections 83.2-83.3 contain procedural checklists. Sections
83.4-83.105 summarize the applicable law. Sections 83.106-83.114
contain forms. Sections 83.115-83.116 provide information about the
California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP) and the California
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) restitution
collection program.

Il. PROCEDURAL CHECKLISTS
A. [883.2] Restitution Fines

(1) Before accepting a plea of guilty or no contest:

(a) Advise defendant that the sentence will include a restitution fine
of $300 to $10,000 for a felony conviction, and $150 to $1,000 for a mis-
demeanor conviction, in addition to any other fine the court may impose.
For discussion, see §83.11.
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r JUDICIAL TIPS: The admonition may be, and often is, part of a
written form. Defendant should be advised of the range of the
fine and not merely the possible maximum. The admonition
should also cover any additional probation, parole, postrelease
community supervision, or mandatory supervision revocation
restitution fines.

(b) Determine whether the disposition is part of a plea bargain.

* If so, ascertain on the record whether the bargain limits the
court’s discretion with respect to the restitution fine.

r JUDICIAL TIP: Proposed dispositions that purport to waive the
fine or set it below the statutory minimum should be rejected. Pen
C 8§1202.4(b); see 8§83.5.

(2) Before sentencing:

(@) Preliminarily determine the amount of the restitution fine by
considering

* Any limitation imposed by a negotiated plea. Illustrations: fine to
be in amount of statutory minimum; “wobbler” to be sentenced as
misdemeanor.

w JUDICIAL TIP: In the aftermath of a plea bargain that failed to
address the restitution fine, which was not mentioned in the
court’s advisements of the consequences of the plea, the court
must either impose the minimum fine or give defendant an
opportunity to withdraw the plea. But if the court, in accepting
the plea, advises the defendant that a restitution fine at or above
the minimum will be imposed, the court is not precluded from im-
posing a fine above the statutory minimum. For discussion, see

§83.13.
 The statutory range:
Minimum Maximum
Misdemeanor $150 $1,000
Felony $300 $10,000

For juvenile offenders, see §83.9.

» Seriousness and circumstances of the offense. Pen C
§1202.4(b)(1), (d).
* Inability to pay. Pen C §1202.4(d).
w JUDICIAL TIPS: (1) Defendant has the burden of showing
inability to pay. Pen C 81202.4(d). (2) Inability to pay only
affects the amount of the fine above the statutory minimum. Pen
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C 81202.4(c). (3) The California Department of Corrections and
Rehabilitation (CDCR) collects restitution fines from the wages
and trust account deposits of prisoners. See §883.5, 83.16, 83.25.

» Defendant’s economic gains, if any, from the crime; losses
suffered by others; the number of victims, and any other relevant
factors. Pen C §1202.4(d); for discussion, see §83.15.

w JUDICIAL TIP: Judges often consider the amount of restitution
to victims and other fines defendant will be ordered to pay.
Again, these considerations only affect the amount of the
restitution fine in excess of the statutory minimum.

* The formula set out in Pen C §1202.4(b)(2) permits, but does not
require, the court to set a restitution fine in a felony case as
follows: $300 x number of years to be served x number of felony
counts of which defendant was convicted.

w JUDICIAL TIP: Some judges simplify the formula to $300 x
number of counts. In the view of some judges, a life sentence
calls for the maximum fine.

(b) Determine whether an additional probation revocation restitution
fine must be imposed and suspended under Pen C §1202.44. Such a fine is
mandatory whenever a defendant receives a conditional sentence or a
sentence that includes a period of probation. For discussion, see 883.6.

() In a felony case determine whether any of the following
additional fines must be imposed and suspended under Pen C §1202.45:

» Parole revocation restitution fine. This fine is mandatory when
defendant will be sentenced to state prison and will be eligible for
parole. For discussion, see 883.7.

» Postrelease community supervision revocation restitution fine.
This fine is mandatory when defendant will be sentenced to state
prison and will be subject to postrelease community supervision
under Pen C §3451. See 883.8.

* Mandatory supervision revocation restitution fine. This fine is
mandatory when defendant will be sentenced to county jail and
will be subject to mandatory supervision under Pen C
81170(h)(5)(B). See §83.8.

(d) Consider whether there are compelling and extraordinary
reasons not to impose a restitution fine. Pen C 81202.4(c); for discussion,
see 883.21. If yes, make notes for statement of reasons and proceed to (e);
if no, proceed to (f).
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r JUDICIAL TIPS: Inability to pay is not an adequate reason. Pen
C 81202.4(c). Nor, in the view of most judges, is a prison
sentence. See §883.5, 83.16.

(e) Determine either (i) how much community service to require of
defendant instead of the restitution fine or (ii) whether there are com-
pelling and extraordinary reasons to waive the requirement. Pen C
81202.4(n). In the event of (ii), make notes for a second statement of
reasons at sentencing.

(3) At sentencing:

(a) Consider matters raised by counsel and make final decision con-
cerning the restitution fine.

w JUDICIAL TIP: Restitution fines are normally imposed at the
sentencing hearing; defendant is not entitled to a separate hearing.
See § 83.14.

To impose a restitution fine proceed to (b); to waive the fine proceed
to (f).

(b) Impose a restitution fine (Pen C 81202.4).
m JUDICIAL TIPS:

* No portion of this fine may be stayed, suspended, or offset by the
amount of victim restitution defendant is ordered to pay. See
§83.22.

* As long as the fine is imposed, findings are unnecessary (Pen C
§1202.4(d)) and usually not made. See §83.109.

» The court should not enter a separate money judgment. Although
restitution fines are enforceable in the manner of money judg-
ments, the court may not actually enter a money judgment against
a defendant for these amounts. See §83.29.

(c) If defendant is granted probation:

» Make payment of the fine a condition of probation. Pen C
8§1202.4(m).

* Impose an additional probation revocation restitution fine in the
same amount as the restitution fine and order it suspended unless
probation is revoked. Pen C §1202.44. The court cannot waive or
reduce this fine absent compelling and extraordinary reasons,
which must be stated on the record. See §83.6.

(d) If the defendant is sentenced to state prison and the sentence
includes a period of parole, impose an additional parole revocation
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restitution fine in the same amount as the restitution fine and order it
suspended unless parole is revoked. Pen C §1202.45(a). See §83.7.

(e) If the defendant is sentenced to state prison and the sentence
includes a period postrelease community supervision under Pen C 83451,
impose an additional postrelease community supervision revocation
restitution fine in the same amount as the restitution fine and order it
suspended unless postrelease community supervision is revoked. Pen C
§1202.45(b). See §83.8.

(F) If the defendant is convicted of a felony and sentenced to county
jail, and the sentence includes a period mandatory supervision under Pen
C 81170(h)(5)(B), impose an additional mandatory supervision revocation
restitution fine in the same amount as the restitution fine and order it
suspended unless mandatory supervision is revoked. Pen C §1202.45(b).
See §83.8.

(9) When no restitution fine is imposed:

(i) State compelling and extraordinary reasons for this action on the
record and

(it) Order defendant, as a condition of probation, to perform
community service as specified by the court instead of the fine, or state on
the record compelling and extraordinary reasons for not ordering
community service. Pen C §1202.4(n). See 883.21.

w JUDICIAL TIP: This statement should be in addition to the
statement of reasons for not imposing a restitution fine. Pen C
§1202.4(n).

B. [883.3] Victim Restitution
(1) Before accepting a plea of guilty or no contest:

(a) Advise defendant that the sentence may include an order to pay
restitution to the victim in an amount to be determined by the court. For
discussion, see §883.34; for form, see §83.106.

w JUDICIAL TIPS: (1) When it is clear that the court will order
restitution, many judges say so at this point. (2) The admonition
can be incorporated into a written form.

(b) Advise defendant that he or she is entitled to a hearing in court to
dispute the amount of restitution but not the actual order to make
restitution. See §83.46.

w JUDICIAL TIP: Many judges prefer to give this advice at the
time of sentencing.
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(c) When there is a Harvey waiver that will give the court authority
to consider dismissed counts for restitution purposes, make sure that the
waiver is stated clearly on the record, that its scope is clear, and that
defendant understands it. For discussion, see §83.102.

(2) Before sentencing consider the probation report, when available,
and

(a) Whether restitution should be ordered

» Because one or more victims suffered or will suffer an economic
loss as a result of the crime(s) of which defendant was convicted
(Pen C 81202.4(a)(1); for discussion, see §883.44-83.98; or

» As a condition of probation under Pen C 81203.1(j), when the
victim’s losses are reasonably related to the crime of which the
defendant was convicted; for discussion, see 883.99; or

» For other reasons (e.g., Harvey waiver; hit-run victim; see
8883.100-83.105).

r JUDICIAL TIP: Judges may order victim restitution, if appropriate,
for infractions. Although restitution fines are expressly limited to
felonies and misdemeanors, there is no such express limitation with
respect to victim restitution. See Pen C 8819.7 (statutes relating to
misdemeanors generally applicable to infractions), 1202.4(a)(1)
(legislative intent that crime victims who suffer economic loss
receive restitution), 1202.4(f) (restitution required in every case in
which victim suffered economic loss as result of defendant’s crime),
and 1203b (courts may grant probation in infraction cases).

(b) Whether the report includes detailed loss figures for each victim
and whether they appear to be reasonable.

(3) At sentencing
(a) Announce either:

(i) The court’s preliminary views on restitution and inquire whether
the victim or the defendant wishes to be heard. If yes, proceed to (c); if no,
proceed to (d) to order restitution.

Or

(if) That the probation report does not contain (sufficient) restitution
information and proceed to (b).

(b) When the probation report lacks restitution data:
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(1) Ascertain whether the victim is present. If yes, receive the victim’s
loss information; permit defendant to challenge it; on request continue to
give defendant time to rebut it. If no, proceed to (ii).

Or

(i) When the victim is not present and the report recommends a
continuance, grant a reasonable continuance as to restitution issues.

= JUDICIAL TIPS:

» Judges usually sentence the defendant even though restitution will
be determined later. In such cases, the judge should include in the
sentence an order for the defendant to pay restitution in an amount
to be determined by the court. The court retains jurisdiction for the
purpose of imposing restitution until the losses are determined.

» Judges often seek a waiver of defendant’s presence at the sub-
sequent restitution hearing. This is particularly important when the
defendant is sentenced to prison. See §83.81.

Or

(iii) When the victim is not present, was notified, has not made a
claim, and the report does not request a continuance, do not order restitu-
tion, except for any benefits that the victim received from the Restitution
Fund.

w JUDICIAL TIP: In many cases, the victim is not notified, and the
prosecutor may not have any information regarding losses. In
these situations, the court should order restitution for benefits that
the victim received from the Restitution Fund. Any additional
restitution may be ordered at a later date.

(c) Conduct a hearing when the victim or defendant requests one.

r JUDICIAL TIP: The hearing does not have the formality of a
trial. Hearsay is admissible. For discussion, see 883.50.

(d) Order defendant to pay restitution (for discussion, see §883.80-
83.86):
Use a separate order for each victim. For form, see §83.111.

* ldentify each loss separately by name of victim and amount; do not
merely order a lump sum payment.

» Specify whether interest (at 10 percent) will accrue from the date
of the order or of the loss. Pen C §1202.4(f)(3)(G). Note: If
payment of restitution is a condition of probation, interest accrues
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from the date of entry of the judgment or order. Pen C §1214.5.
For discussion, see §83.83.

» Specify whether codefendants are jointly and severally responsible
for restitution.

e Do not delegate determination of restitution amount unless the
defendant consents to a determination by the probation officer;
determination of the number and dollar amounts of installment
payments is often delegated to the probation department or other
county agency. For discussion, see §883.83.

» When the sentence includes probation, make payment of the
restitution order a condition of probation. Pen C §1202.4(m).

» Order defendant to pay restitution to the California Victim Com-
pensation and Government Claims Board to reimburse payments
from the Restitution Fund for crime-related losses. Pen C
§1202.4(f)(2).

r JUDICIAL TIP: The court should not enter a separate money
judgment. Although restitution orders are enforceable in the
manner of money judgments, the court may not actually enter a
money judgment against a defendant based on an order to pay
restitution. See §83.38.

(e) Make and stay a separate income deduction order on determining
that defendant has the ability to pay restitution. Pen C §1202.42; for
discussion, see 883.89. For sample income deduction order and related
forms, see §883.111-83.114.

r JUDICIAL TIP: Penal Code §1202.42 does not apply to juvenile
court restitution or to any restitution order not made under Pen C
81202.4. For discussion of orders to apply a specified portion of
earnings to restitution, see §83.90.

I1l. APPLICABLE LAW
A. Restitution Fine
1. [883.4] Purpose of Fine

Restitution fines are a major source of financing the state Restitution
Fund (see Pen C 881202.4(e), 1202.44, 1202.45); penalty assessments on
other fines provide additional financing. See Pen C 81464. Eligible
victims of criminal acts may obtain restitution from the Restitution Fund,
which is administered by the California Victim Compensation and
Government Claims Board. For detailed information about the Board’s
Victim Compensation Program, see 883.115.
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2. Major Statutory Requirements
a. [883.5] Restitution Fine (Pen C §1202.4)

The principal statutes that govern the imposition of restitution fines
on adult offenders are Pen C §81202.4, 1202.44, and 1202.45. For dis-
cussion of Pen C §81202.44 and 1202.45, see §883.6-83.7; for juvenile
offenders, see §883.9-83.10. Key features of Pen C §1202.4 include:

* Mandatory nature of fine. Imposition of the fine is mandatory
except for compelling and extraordinary reasons stated on the
record. See 8§83.21.

* Statutory minimums and maximums:

Felonies: $300-$10,000
Misdemeanors: $150-$1,000

 Limited effect of inability to pay. Defendant’s lack of ability to pay
does not justify waiver of the fine. It may be considered only in
setting the amount above the statutory minimum. For discussion,
see 883.16; for discussion of other factors the court should
consider in setting the fine, see §83.15.

» Hearing. Defendant is not entitled to a separate hearing for
determining the amount of the fine. See §83.14.

» Community service. When the court does not impose a restitution
fine, defendant must be ordered to perform community service
except for compelling and extraordinary reasons stated on the
record. See. §83.21.

* Probation. Grants of probation must include payment of the
restitution fine as a condition.

b. [883.6] Probation Revocation Restitution Fine (Pen C
§1202.44)

When a defendant receives a conditional sentence or a sentence that
includes a period of probation, the court must impose an additional
probation revocation restitution fine. Pen C §1202.44. In felony cases, the
fine applies to both defendants who are placed on probation after the court
has suspended imposition of sentence and to defendants who are placed on
probation after the court has suspended execution of sentence. People v
Taylor (2007) 157 CA4th 433, 436-439, 68 CR3d 682.

The probation revocation restitution fine has the following features
(Pen C §1202.44):

* The fine must be imposed in addition to, not instead of, the
restitution fine required by Pen C §1202.4;
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* The amount of the fine is the same as the amount imposed for the
restitution fine under Pen C §1202.4;

» The fine does not become effective unless and until the probation
or conditional sentence is revoked; and

» The court may not waive or reduce the fine, absent compelling and
extraordinary reasons stated on the record.

c. [883.7] Parole Revocation Restitution Fine (Pen C
§1202.45(a))

When a defendant is convicted of a felony and the sentence includes
a period of parole, the court must impose an additional parole revocation
restitution fine. Pen C §1202.45(a).

The Courts of Appeal are divided on whether the trial court may
impose a parole revocation restitution fine if defendant is sentenced to
state prison and execution of that sentence is suspended. People v Hunt
(2013) 213 CA4th 13, 16-20, 151 CR3d 874 (no; enactment of Pen C
§1202.44 in 2004 (see 8§83.15) was evidence of the legislature’s intent that
all felony probation grants include a Pen C 81202.44 probation revocation
fine, but not a parole revocation restitution fine, when a Pen C §1202.4(b)
restitution fine is imposed); People v Hannah (1999) 73 CA4th 270, 274—
275, 86 CR2d 395 (no); People v Calabrese (2002) 101 CA4th 79, 86-87,
123 CR2d 570 (yes); People v Tye (2000) 83 CA4th 1398, 1400-1401,
100 CR2d 507 (yes).

The parole revocation restitution fine has the following features (Pen
C 81202.45(a), (c)):

e The fine must be imposed in addition to, not instead of, the
restitution fine required by Pen C §1202.4.

* The amount of the fine is the same as the amount imposed for the
restitution fine under Pen C §1202.4.

» The fine must be suspended unless and until parole is revoked.

The court may not impose the parole revocation restitution fine if the
defendant is sentenced to life in prison without the possibility of parole.
People v Oganesyan (1999) 70 CA4th 1178, 1183, 83 CR2d 157.
However, if the defendant receives a determinate term and a parole
ineligible term, the fine may be imposed. People v Brasure (2008) 42
C4th 1037, 1074, 71 CR3d 675 (defendant sentenced to death for capital
murder and to determinate prison term under Pen C 81170 for several
other offenses).

If the court sentences a felony defendant to county jail under Pen C
81170(h), whether or not the court suspends the execution of a concluding
portion of the term (i.e., “split” sentence), a parole revocation restitution
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fine may not be imposed because there is no formal state parole period
following release from a county jail commitment. See People v Cruz
(2012) 207 CA4th 664, 671-672, 143 CR3d 742. However, the court must
impose a mandatory supervision revocation restitution fine in such cases.
See 883.8.

d. [883.8] Postrelease Community Supervision Revocation
and Mandatory Supervision Revocation
Restitution Fines (Pen C §1202.45(b))

When a defendant is convicted of a crime and is subject to either
postrelease community supervision under Pen C 83451 or mandatory
supervision under Pen C 81170(h)(5)(B), the court must impose an
additional postrelease community supervision revocation restitution fine
or mandatory supervision revocation restitution fine. Pen C §1202.45(b).

The postrelease community supervision revocation restitution fine
and mandatory supervision revocation restitution fine have the following
features (Pen C §1202.45(b), (c)):

* The fine must be imposed in addition to, not instead of, the
restitution fine required by Pen C §1202.4.

e The amount of the fine is the same as the amount imposed for the
restitution fine under Pen C 81202.4.

e The fine must be suspended unless and until postrelease
community supervision or mandatory supervision is revoked.

e. [883.9] Juvenile Offenders (Welf & | C §730.6)

Juvenile offenders are also subject to mandatory restitution fines.
Welf & | C 8730.6. The principal features of the provisions governing
juveniles are:

e The felony fine range is $100 to $1,000; the misdemeanor fine
cannot exceed $100. There is no prescribed minimum
misdemeanor fine. Welf & | C §730.6(b)(1).

» The factors that the court should consider in setting the fine are
essentially the same as for adult offenders. See Welf & | C
§730.6(d)(1). See also chart in 883.10. Express findings are
unnecessary and usually not made. See Welf & 1 C §730.6(e).

* Imposition of the fine is mandatory, except for compelling and
extraordinary reasons in felony cases. The reasons must be stated
on the record. Welf & I C §730.6(g). The restitution fine cannot be
waived for misdemeanors, probably because there is no statutory
minimum fine with respect to them.
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When the fine is waived, the minor must be required to perform
community service except for compelling and extraordinary
reasons stated on the record. Welf & | C 8730.6(n), (0).

Inability to pay does not justify failure to impose a restitution fine.
Welf & | C 8730.6(c). It is a factor in setting the amount of the
fine. The offender has the burden of showing inability, but is not
entitled to a separate hearing. Welf & I C §730.6(b), (d)(2). In
determining a juvenile offender’s ability to pay, the court may
consider the juvenile’s future earning capacity. Welf & | C
§730.6(d)(2).

Payment of the fine must be a condition of probation. Welf & | C
§730.6(1).

Parents and guardians may be jointly and severally liable. Welf & |
C §730.7.
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f. [883.10] Chart: Comparison of Restitution Fine Provisions
for Adult and Juvenile Offenders
(Pen C §81202.4, 1202.44, 1202.45; Welf & 1 C

§730.6)
Adult Juvenile

Amount of fine

Misdemeanor $150-$1,000 Not more than $100

Felony $300-$10,000 $100-$1,000
Factors to consider All relevant factors including but
when setting fine not limited to:
above statutory * Inability to pay
minimum * Seriousness of offense

 Circumstances of commission
» Economic gain by offender
« Losses to others from offense

Number of victims
Optional formula for
multiple felonies

Burden of showing Offender
inability to pay when
court sets fine above
statutory minimum

Waiver of fine Only for compelling and extraordinary
reasons stated on record; inability to pay not
adequate reason

No waiver when
offense is a
misdemeanor

Community service Mandatory when fine waived except for
compelling and extraordinary reasons stated
on record

Effect of restitution to | Cannot be offset against fine
victim

Relation to probation | Payment must be condition of probation
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Adult

Juvenile

Probation revocation
fine

Must be imposed
separately in same
amount as restitution
fine and suspended
unless and until
probation or
conditional sentence
is revoked

Inapplicable

Parole revocation fine

Must be imposed
separately in same
amount as restitution
fine and suspended
unless and until parole
is revoked

Inapplicable

Postrelease
community
supervision revocation
restitution fine;
mandatory supervision
revocation restitution
fine

Must be imposed
separately in same
amount as restitution
fine and suspended
unless and until
postrelease
community

Inapplicable

supervision or
mandatory
supervision is revoked

3. Procedure at Time of Guilty Plea
a. [883.11] Advisement When Taking Plea

A restitution fine is a direct consequence of a guilty or no contest
plea. Accordingly, the court must advise defendant of the imposition of a
restitution fine, with specific mention to the statutory minimum and
maximum amounts. People v Villalobos (2012) 54 C4th 177, 185, 141
CR3d 491.

b. [883.12] Fine Amount Negotiable

Defendants are free to negotiate the amount of restitution fines as part
of their plea bargains. The parties to a criminal proceeding may choose to
agree on a specific amount between the statutory minimum and maximum,
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or they may leave it up to the sentencing court's discretion. People v
Villalobos (2012) 54 C4th 177, 181-182, 141 CR3d 491.

c. [883.13] Silent Plea Bargain

When the parties have not mentioned the amount of the restitution
fine during the plea negotiation, and when the trial court has not
threatened or promised any particular amount of fine during the plea
colloquy, the amount of the fine is not part of the plea agreement, and the
trial court is free to impose a fine within the statutory range. Absent an
expressly negotiated term in the plea bargain concerning the fine, there is
no basis to conclude that imposition of a fine within the statutory range
constitutes more punishment than what the defendant bargained for.
People v Villalobos (2012) 54 C4th 177, 181-186, 141 CR3d 491. The
court overruled People v Walker (1991) 54 C3d 1013, 1028-1029, 1 CR2d
902, to the extent it suggests that silence by the parties and trial court
concerning a statutorily mandated punishment makes exclusion of the
punishment a negotiated term of a plea bargain. 54 C4th at 183.

w JUDICIAL TIPS:

» Counsel should be asked to state any agreement with respect to the
fine when putting the proposed terms of negotiated plea on the
record.

* When the negotiations leave the fine open, the court should explain
to the defendant the statutory minimum and maximum fine amount
or have counsel do so and obtain defendant’s oral assent.

» The court should give the Pen C 81192.5 admonition (relating to
the defendant’s right to withdraw the plea) whenever required by
that statute. See 54 C4th at 186.

4. Determination of Fine

a. [883.14] No Separate Hearing

The defendant is not entitled to a hearing apart from the sentencing
hearing with respect to the restitution fine. Pen C §1202.4(d).

w JUDICIAL TIP: Both sides should be given an opportunity to
address the matter at the sentencing hearing, because, inter alia,
defendant has the burden of demonstrating inability to pay. Pen C
§1202.4(d).

b. [§83.15] Factors

Statutory factors. In determining the amount of the fine, the court
should consider any relevant factor (Pen C 81202.4(d)), including:
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* Inability to pay (for discussion, see §83.16);

* Seriousness of the offense;

» Circumstances of the offense;

» Defendant’s economic gain, if any, from the crime;

» Pecuniary and intangible losses of victims or dependents of
victims;
e Number of victims.

Criminal record. Defendant’s criminal record is a relevant factor.
People v Griffin (1987) 193 CA3d 739, 741-742, 238 CR 371; Cal Rules
of Ct4.411.5, 4.414.

Optional formula. In multicount felony cases the court may set the
fine by using the formula stated in Pen C §1202.4(b)(2). See §83.17.

Juveniles. Factors to consider in juvenile cases are virtually the same
as in cases involving adult offenders. See chart in §83.10.

c. [883.16] Ability To Pay

Defendant is presumed to be able to pay the restitution fine and has
the burden of demonstrating inability. Pen C 81202.4(d); People v Romero
(1996) 43 CA4th 440, 448-449, 51 CR2d 26.

The court may consider future earning capacity. Pen C §1202.4(d);
People v Gentry (1994) 28 CA4th 1374, 1376-1377, 34 CR2d 37 (court
may consider defendant’s future prison wages as well as possibility of
employment when defendant is released from prison).

The court must impose the minimum fine even when defendant is
unable to pay it. Pen C §1202.4(c); Welf & | C §730.6(b); People v Draut
(1999) 73 CA4th 577, 582, 86 CR2d 469. The court may consider inability
to pay only when increasing the amount of the restitution fine in excess of
the $300 or $150 minimum. Pen C §1202.4(c). Such a mandate is not
constitutionally infirm; however, imprisonment of an indigent defendant
for nonpayment violates equal protection. People v Long (1985) 164
CA3d 820, 826827, 210 CR 745.

d. [§83.17] Multiple Counts

Discretionary formula. For defendants convicted of several felony
counts the court may calculate the fine by the following formula (Pen C
§1202.4(b)(2)):

$300 x number of years of sentence x number of counts of
which defendant was convicted.
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w JUDICIAL TIP: Some judges simplify the formula to $300 x
number of counts. In the view of some judges, a life sentence
calls for the maximum fine.

Limitation of maximum. The total fine may not exceed the statutory
maximum, regardless of the number of victims and counts. People v
Blackburn (1999) 72 CA4th 1520, 1534, 86 CR2d 134. See also People v
Ivans (1992) 2 CA4th 1654, 1667, 4 CR2d 66 (decided under former Govt
C §13967).

Resolution of multiple cases under negotiated plea bargain. When a
defendant enters separate pleas to separately filed cases under a single
plea bargain, and is sentenced on all the cases at the same time, the court
may impose a separate restitution fine in each case. People v Soria (2010)
48 C4th 58, 62—66, 104 CR3d 780.

Resolution of multiple cases in joint trial. When a defendant is
convicted of crimes in two cases that are consolidated for trial, the court
may not impose restitution fines in both cases, even if the cases involve
charges in separately filed informations. People v Ferris (2000) 82 CA4th
1272, 1275-1278, 99 CR2d 180.

Conviction of felony and misdemeanor in same proceeding. When a
defendant is convicted of both a felony and misdemeanor in the same
proceeding, the court must impose a separate restitution fine for each so
long as the total of the restitution fines does not exceed the statutory
maximum. People v Holmes (2007) 153 CA4th 539, 546-548, 63 CR3d
150.

Counts stayed under Pen C 8§8654. The trial court may not consider a
felony conviction for which the sentence is stayed under Pen C 8654 as
part of the court’s calculation of the restitution fine under the formula
provided in Pen C §1202.4(b)(2). People v Le (2006) 136 CA4th 925,
932-934, 39 CR3d 146.

e. [883.18] No Joint and Several Liability for Restitution
Fines

Restitution fines (Pen C §1202.4(b)), probation revocation restitution
fines (Pen C 8§1202.44), parole revocation restitution fines (Pen C
§1202.45(a)), postrelease community supervision revocation restitution
fines (Pen C 81202.45(b)), and mandatory supervision revocation
restitution fines (Pen C 81202.45(b)) may not be imposed as payable
jointly and severally by multiple defendants. People v Kunitz (2004) 122
CAA4th 652, 655-658, 18 CR3d 843 (although court addressed only Pen C
881202.4(b) and 1202.45(a) fines, reasoning applicable to Pen C §1202.44
and 1202.45(b) fines).

Direct victim restitution is not punishment, and it may be imposed
jointly and severally. 122 CA4th at 657. For discussion, see §83.85.
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f. [883.19] Findings

The court need not specify reasons for setting the fine in any
particular amount; only when the court waives the fine must reasons be
stated. Pen C 81202.4(b), (d); People v Urbano (2005) 128 CA4th 396,
405, 26 CR3d 871; People v Romero (1996) 43 CA4th 440, 448, 51 CR2d
26 (court not required to make findings on ability to pay); for discussion
of fine waiver, see §83.21.

r JUDICIAL TIP: Some judges state reasons when they set the fine
at a level that departs from their usual practice.

The amount of the fine is reviewed only for abuse of discretion and
upheld when supported by the record. People v McGhee (1988) 197 CA3d
710, 716-717, 243 CR 46 (maximum restitution fine justified when court
properly imposed upper prison term); People v Griffin (1987) 193 CA3d
739, 740-742, 238 CR 371 (record of recidivist thief convicted of petty
theft with prior supports $2000 restitution fine).

The exercise of the court’s discretion to impose a restitution fine,
taking into consideration various factors relating both to the offense and
the offender (see §83.15), within the range prescribed by statute, does not
run afoul of Apprendi v New Jersey (2000) 530 US 466, 120 S Ct 2348,
147 L Ed 2d 435 (jury verdict required for every fact that increases
penalty beyond statutory maximum for offense). People v Kramis (2012)
209 CA4th 346, 147 CR3d 84.

g. [883.20] Retrial or Remand for Resentencing

The court may not increase the restitution fine after a retrial that
followed defendant’s successful appeal (People v Thompson (1998) 61
CA4th 1269, 1276, 76 CR2d 267), or after remand for resentencing
following the defendant’s partially successful appeal (People v Hanson
(2000) 23 C4th 355, 366-367, 97 CR2d 58). Such an increase in the
restitution fine is precluded by the state constitutional prohibition against
double jeopardy (Cal Const art I, 815). 23 C4th at 366—367. The court has
discretion, however, to reduce the amount of a previously imposed
restitution fine at resentencing following remand. People v Rosas (2010)
191 CA4th 107, 117-120, 119 CR3d 74.

The Second District Court of Appeal held that an increase in one
component of a monetary sentence will not render punishment more
severe if another component is reduced by an equal amount. The
protection against double jeopardy requires only that the aggregate
monetary sentence, not each component thereof, be equal to or less than
that originally imposed. So long as it is, a defendant has no interest in the
particular amount of each separate fine. People v Daniels (2012) 208
CA4th 29, 32-33, 145 CR3d 33. In Daniels, a defendant’s increased
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restitution fine and parole revocation restitution fine, after he successfully
appealed his first conviction and he was retried and reconvicted, violated
the state constitutional protection against double jeopardy only to the
extent that the sum of those two fines plus the direct victim restitution
exceeded the sum of the three restitution amounts in the defendant’s first
trial. 208 CA4th 32-33.

5. [883.21] Waiver of Fine

The court must impose a restitution fine unless it finds “compelling
and extraordinary reasons” for not doing so and states them on the record.
Pen C §1202.4(b), (c); People v Tillman (2000) 22 C4th 300, 302, 92
CR2d 741.

Inability to pay is not an adequate reason for waiving the fine. Pen C
81202.4(c). There is no judicial guidance on what constitutes compelling
and extraordinary reasons. Sentencing a defendant to prison is not a suffi-
cient reason because the fine can be collected from prison wages and trust
account deposits. See §83.25.

r JUDICIAL TIP: Some judges waive the fine in the case of street
people who suffer from mental or other disabilities. Others
excuse payment when the defendant is on SSI or receives General
Assistance. Most judges do not regard being jobless or homeless
standing alone a sufficient reason.

When the court waives the fine, it must order the defendant to
perform community service instead, unless it finds additional compelling
and extraordinary reasons stated on the record. Pen C 81202.4(n).

r JUDICIAL TIP: This statement should be in addition to the state-
ment of reasons for not imposing a restitution fine. Pen C
§1202.4(n).

The prosecution waives any objection to the trial court’s failure to
impose a restitution fine under Pen C 81202.4 by failing to object to the
omission at the time of sentencing; in such event, the appellate court may
not modify the judgment to add a restitution fine. People v Tillman, supra,
22 C4th at 302-303. However, when the trial court imposes a restitution
fine under Pen C 8§1202.4, but omits or imposes an erroneous parole
revocation restitution fine under Pen C §1202.45 (see §83.7) and the
prosecution does not object to this omission, an appellate court has the
authority to modify the judgment to impose or correct the fine. People v
Smith (2001) 24 C4th 849, 102 CR2d 731 (trial court imposed $5000
restitution fine but only a $200 parole revocation fine); People v
Rodriguez (2000) 80 CA4th 372, 375-379, 95 CR2d 299 (trial court
imposed $200 restitution fine and no parole revocation fine).
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6. [883.22] No Crediting Amount of Restitution Against
Restitution Fine

The court may not offset the amount of direct victim restitution
against a Pen C 81202.4 restitution fine. People v Vazquez (2009) 178
CA4th 347, 355, 100 CR3d 351; People v Blackburn (1999) 72 CA4th
1520, 1534, 86 CR2d 134.

7. [883.23] Penalty Assessments

Restitution fines, probation revocation restitution fines, parole
revocation restitution fines, postrelease community supervision revocation
restitution fines, and mandatory supervision revocation fines are exempt
from the penalty assessments of Pen C 81464 and Govt C §76000, the
state surcharge of Pen C 81465.7, the state court construction penalty of
Govt C §70372(a), and the DNA penalty assessments of Govt C §76104.6
and Govt C 876104.7. Pen C 881202.4(e), 1202.45(c), 1464(a)(3)(A),
1465.7(a); Govt C §870372(a)(3)(A), 76000(a)(3)(A), 76104.6(a)(3)(A),
76104.7(c)(1).

8. [883.24] Administrative Fees

Counties may impose a fee to cover the administrative costs of
collecting the restitution fine. The fee may not exceed 10 percent of the
amount of the fine. Pen C 81202.4(l); People v Robertson (2009) 174
CAA4th 206, 210-211, 94 CR3d 179.

r JUDICIAL TIP: In counties that charge this fee the sentence
should include an order to pay it.

9. [883.25] Collection of Fine by CDCR and DJJ

The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
(CDCR) deducts restitution fines from prisoners wages and trust account
deposits and transmits the moneys to the California Victim Compensation
and Government Claims Board. Pen C §2085.5(a); see, e.g., People v
Gentry (1994) 28 CA4th 1374, 1377-1378, 34 CR2d 37.

w JUDICIAL TIPS:

» Penal Code 82085.5 is self-executing and it is not necessary to
refer to it when imposing sentence. If the judge chooses to make a
reference, the judge should make it clear that the fine is imposed
under Pen C 81202.4(b) and must be collected under Pen C
82085.5. Court documents should not state that the fine is imposed
under Pen C §2085.5. See People v Rowland (1988) 206 CA3d
119, 124, 253 CR 190.
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» Courts should make sure that the abstract of judgment reflects the
restitution fine because the CDCR relies on the abstract. See
People v Hong (1998) 64 CA4th 1071, 1080, 76 CR2d 23.

The CDCR’s Division of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) also collects
restitution fines from wards’ wages and trust account deposits and
transfers the moneys to the California Victim Compensation and
Government Claims Board. The DJJ must provide the sentencing court
with a record of payments. Welf & | C §81752.81-1752.82.

10. [883.26] Collection of Fines from County Jail Prisoners

When a prisoner is punished by imprisonment in a county jail under
Pen C §1170(h), the agency designated by the board of supervisors in the
county where the prisoner is incarcerated may deduct restitution fines
from the prisoner’s wages and trust account deposits, and transmit the
moneys to the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims
Board. Pen C 8§2085.5(b)(1). If the board of supervisors designates the
county sheriff as the collecting agency, the board of supervisors must first
obtain the concurrence of the county sheriff. Pen C §2085.5(b)(2).

11. [883.27] No Imprisonment To Satisfy Fine

Restitution fines cannot be converted to additional time spent in
custody under the provisions of Pen C §1205. Pen C §1205(f).

12. [883.28] Applying Seized Funds to Restitution Fine

The court may apply funds confiscated from the defendant at the time
of the defendant’s arrest, except for funds confiscated under Health & S C
811469 (illegal drug funds), to the restitution fine if the funds are not
exempt for spousal or child support or subject to any other legal
exemption. Pen C §1202.4(c).

The common law rule that money belonging to an arrestee and held
for safekeeping is exempt from execution does not apply to funds sought
for payment of a restitution fine, a debt that was created after the
defendant’s conviction. People v Willie (2005) 133 CA4th 43, 49-50, 34
CR3d 532. Further, this exemption has been superseded by CCP
§704.090, which effectively limits the exemption to $300 for a restitution
fine. 133 CA4th at 50-52.

13. [883.29] Fine Enforceable as Civil Judgment

An order to pay a Pen C 81202.4, §1202.44, or §1202.45 restitution
fine is enforceable as if it were a civil judgment. Pen C 8§1214(a).
Restitution fines derived from misdemeanor cases, cases involving a
violation of a city or town ordinance, and noncapital cases with a plea of
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guilty or no contest, are enforceable in the same manner as a money
judgment in a limited civil case. Pen C 81214(c); CCP §582.5.

A restitution fine is enforceable immediately and continues to be
enforceable by the California Victim Compensation and Government
Claims Board after termination of probation, postrelease community
supervision, mandatory supervision, or parole. Pen C 881214(a),
1202.4(m); People v Chambers (1998) 65 CA4th 819, 821-823, 76 CR2d
732 (restitution fine survives revocation of probation).

r JUDICIAL TIP: The court should not enter a separate money
judgment. Execution can issue on the order to pay the fine.
People v Hart (1998) 65 CA4th 902, 906, 76 CR2d 837. See also
People v Willie (2005) 133 CA4th 43, 47-49, 34 CR3d 532
(district attorney’s motion for release of funds taken from
defendant on his arrest for payment of restitution fine, and court’s
nunc pro tunc order for their release, were not appropriate
methods for enforcing the restitution fine).

B. Restitution Fee in Diversion Matters
1. [883.30] Mandatory Fee; Amount

In diversion and deferred entry of judgment cases the counterpart to
the restitution fine is the restitution fee required by Pen C §1001.90.
Imposition is mandatory (Pen C §1001.90(a), (c)), subject to exceptions
discussed in §83.31.

The minimum fee is $100; the maximum, $1,000. Pen C §1001.90(b).
The factors that should guide the court in setting the amount of the fee are
essentially the same as apply to restitution fines. Pen C 81001.90(d); for
discussion, see 883.15. The court may not modify the amount of the fee
except to correct an error in setting the amount. Pen C §1001.90(e).

r JUDICIAL TIP: Modification is probably warranted only when
the fee was erroneously omitted, set below the statutory minimum
or above the maximum, and to correct ministerial errors. Forgive-
ness of the fee on successful completion of diversion is probably
precluded.

Counties may add a collection fee not to exceed 10 percent of the
restitution fee. Pen C §1001.90(g).

Like restitution fines, the fee goes to the state Restitution Fund. Pen
C §1001.90(f).

2. [883.31] Exceptions

As with restitution fines, the court may waive the fee when it finds
that there are compelling and extraordinary reasons and states them on the
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record. Pen C 81001.90(c). The fee must be imposed regardless of
defendant’s ability to pay it; ability to pay is, however, a factor to be
considered in setting the amount. Pen C §1001.90(c), (d).

Additionally, Pen C 8§1001.90 does not apply to diversion of
defendants with cognitive developmental disabilities. Pen C §1001.90(a).

3. [883.32] Fee Enforceable as Civil Judgment

An order to pay a diversion restitution fee is enforceable as if it were
a civil judgment. Pen C §1214(a). A diversion restitution fee is enforce-
able immediately and continues to be enforceable by the California Victim
Compensation and Government Claims Board after the defendant has
completed diversion. Pen C §1214(a).

r JUDICIAL TIP: The court should not enter a separate money
judgment. Execution can issue on the order to pay the fee. People
v Hart (1998) 65 CA4th 902, 906, 76 CR2d 837.

C. [883.33] Victim Restitution

The court must order payment of restitution when the crime of which
defendant was convicted resulted in economic loss to the victim. Pen C
8§1202.4; Welf & | C 8§730.6; see Cal Const art I, §28(b)(13)(A). A
sentence without a restitution award to a victim, as mandated by Cal Const
art 1, 828(b) and Pen C §1202.4 is invalid; the only discretion retained by
the court is that of fixing the amount of the award. People v Rowland
(1997) 51 CAA4th 1745, 1751-1752, 60 CR2d 351. For discussion, see
§883.44-83.98.

Under some circumstances California courts may order restitution
when the losses are not the result of the crime underlying the defendant’s
conviction. For example, in probation cases, the courts have broad dis-
cretion to order restitution that is reasonably related to the defendant’s
crime. See §883.99-83.101. And courts often order a defendant to make
restitution to a victim of offenses that underlie dismissed counts. For
discussion, see §883.102-83.105.

1. Principles Applicable to Restitution Generally
a. Procedure at Time of Guilty Plea

(1) [883.34] Advisement When Taking Plea

Restitution is a direct consequence of a guilty or no contest plea of
which defendant must be advised. People v Rowland (1997) 51 CA4th
1745, 1752-1753, 60 CR2d 351; People v Valdez (1994) 24 CA4th 1194,
1203, 30 CR2d 4.
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Failure to so advise is fatal only if it prejudices the defendant. People
v Rowland, supra, 51 CA4th at 1753 (no prejudice because, inter alia,
amount of restitution ordered matched defendant’s civil liability).

(2) [883.35] Silent Plea Bargain

A silent plea bargain does not circumscribe the mandatory duty of the
trial court to order the payment of restitution. People v Valdez (1994) 24
CA4th 1194, 1203, 30 CR2d 4; see People v Campbell (1994) 21 CA4th
825, 829, 26 CR2d 433 (silent plea agreement did not nullify restitution
order as condition of probation).

When a defendant enters into a plea bargain in which the defendant
reasonably believes he or she will be ordered to pay a small amount of
restitution, and thereafter at sentencing is ordered to pay a much larger
amount, the defendant is entitled to withdraw his or her plea. People v
Brown (2007) 147 CA4th 1213, 1221-1228, 54 CR3d 887. The court in
Brown stated that an award of victim restitution constitutes punishment for
purposes of determining whether there is a violation of a plea agreement
when the sentencing court imposes a larger restitution amount than that
specified in the plea agreement. 147 CA4th 1221-1223. In this case the
victim restitution order imposed was a significant deviation from the terms
of the plea agreement. Specific performance was not an available remedy
because full victim restitution is mandated by Cal Const art 1, 828(b)(13)
and Pen C 81202.4(f), and the court has no discretion or authority to
impose a negotiated sentence that provides for an award of less than full
restitution. 147 CA4th at 1224-1228.

In People v Rowland (1997) 51 CA4th 1745, 60 CR2d 351, the plea
agreement made no mention of victim restitution, and the trial court
resentenced the defendant to include a substantial award of victim resti-
tution. The First District Court of Appeal upheld the trial court’s con-
clusion that absent a showing of prejudice, the defendant was not entitled
to withdraw his plea. 51 CA4th at 1750-1754. The court in People v
Brown, supra, distinguished Rowland, by pointing out that because restitu-
tion was not mentioned in the plea agreement in that case, the trial court’s
restitution order did not violate an express term of the agreement. 147
CAA4th at 1223 n6.

b. [883.36] Right to Notice and Hearing

Victims and defendants have a right to a hearing and to notice. For
discussion, see §883.46-83.51.
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c. [883.37] Restitution Not Affected by Bankruptcy

Defendant’s bankruptcy. The Bankruptcy Code does not apply to
restitution orders. People v Washburn (1979) 97 CA3d 621, 158 CR 822.
A restitution obligation imposed as a condition of probation is not
dischargeable in a liquidation or “straight bankruptcy” proceeding under
Chapter 7 (11 USC 88701 et seq). Kelly v Robinson (1986) 479 US 36,
50-53, 107 S Ct 353, 93 L Ed 2d 216; 11 USC 8§523(a)(7). See also
Warfel v City of Saratoga (In re Warfel) (9th Cir BAP 2001) 268 BR 205,
209-213 (civil restitution judgment originally imposed as a condition of
debtor’s probation not dischargeable under Chapter 7). Nor is a restitution
obligation dischargeable under Chapter 13 (11 USC 881301 et seq). 11
USC §1328(a)(3).

Bankruptcy does not block restitution even when defendant’s civil
obligations to the victim were discharged by bankruptcy before criminal
charges were filed. People v Moser (1996) 50 CA4th 130, 136, 57 CR2d
647.

Because collection of restitution is a continuation of a criminal
action, the automatic stay provisions of bankruptcy law do not apply. See
In re Gruntz (9th Cir 2000) 202 F3d 1074, 1084-1087 (automatic stay did
not enjoin state court criminal proceedings against debtor for failure to
pay child support); 11 USC 8§8362(b)(1).

Victim’s bankruptcy. When the victim incurred an obligation to a
third party as a result of defendant’s conduct, the bankruptcy discharge of
the victim’s obligation does not preclude a restitution order. People v
Dalvito (1997) 56 CA4th 557, 560-562, 65 CR2d 679 (bankruptcy is
economic loss despite discharge; no explanation why loss is equal to
amount of obligation).

d. [883.38] Order Enforceable as Civil Judgment

An order to pay restitution is deemed a money judgment and
enforceable as if it were a civil judgment. Pen C §881202.4(i), 1214(b);
Welf & | C §730.6(r). Restitution orders derived from misdemeanor cases,
cases involving a violation of a city or town ordinance, and noncapital
cases with a plea of guilty or no contest, are enforceable in the same
manner as a money judgment in a limited civil case. Pen C 81214(c); CCP
§582.5.

The following conditions must be met before a restitution order may
be enforced as if it were a civil judgment (Pen C 8§1214(b)):

(1) The defendant was informed of the right to have a judicial
determination of the amount, and

(2) the defendant was
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Provided with a hearing,
Waived a hearing, or
Stipulated to the amount of restitution.

In addition, Pen C 81214(b) gives victims and the California Victim
Compensation and Government Claims Board the right to receive on
request a certified copy of the restitution order and the defendant’s
financial disclosure (see 883.95). See also Welf & | C §730.7(c) (victims
of juvenile offenses entitled to certified copy of restitution order). If
requested, the court must provide the financial disclosure to the district
attorney in connection with an investigation or prosecution involving
perjury or the veracity of the information contained in the disclosure. Pen
C 81214(b).

Penal Code §1214(b) also gives victims *“access to all resources
available under the law to enforce the restitution order,” including, inter
alia, wage garnishment and lien procedures.

A restitution order is enforceable immediately and continues to be
enforceable by the victim after termination of defendant’s probation,
postrelease community supervision, mandatory supervision, or parole. Pen
C 881214(b), 1202.4(m); Welf & I C §730.6(l); People v Kleinman (2004)
123 CA4th 1476, 1479-1481, 20 CR3d 885 (probation summarily
revoked).

w JUDICIAL TIP: Enforcement, like a judgment, should not be
confused with the actual entry of a civil judgment based on the
order to pay restitution. Judges should not at any time order the
entry of such a judgment. However, it is entirely proper for the
judge to order the appropriate civil clerk to issue enforcement of
judgment orders, such as writs of execution, to victims with a
restitution order. See People v Hart (1998) 65 CA4th 902, 906,
76 CR2d 837. But see People v Farael (1999) 70 CA4th 864,
866-867, 83 CR2d 16 (on conviction of insurance fraud, court
properly required defendant as condition of probation to sign
confession of judgment in insurer’s favor in amount of its
investigation costs; appellate court found *“no practical or legal
difference between a restitution order and a confession of
judgment for the purpose of restitution™).

e. [883.39] Penalty Assessments

Restitution orders are not subject to the penalty assessments of Pen C
81464 or Govt C §76000. Unlike penalty assessments, restitution is not
collected by the courts, but is ordered payable directly to the victim.
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People v Dorsey (1999) 75 CA4th 729, 734-737, 89 CR2d 498; People v
Martinez (1999) 73 CA4th 265, 267-268, 86 CR2d 346.

Statutory penalties may not be included in a victim restitution order.
People v Boudames (2006) 146 CA4th 45, 49-53, 52 CR3d 629.

f. [883.40] Administrative Fees

When a defendant is ordered to pay restitution as a condition of
probation to the victim or to the Restitution Fund under Pen C 81203.1(b),
the entity collecting the fee (i.e., county or trial court) may impose a fee to
cover the administrative costs of collecting restitution payments made to
the victim, but not those made to the fund. The fee may not exceed 15
percent of the total amount of restitution ordered to be paid. Pen C
§1203.1(1); People v Eddards (2008) 162 CA4th 712, 716-717, 75 CR3d
924.

g. [883.41] Persons Found Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity

Article 1, 828(b)(13), of the California Constitution, and Pen C
81202.4(a) refer to restitution from the persons convicted of crimes. A per-
son found not guilty by reason of insanity (NGI) is not a convicted person.
People v Morrison (1984) 162 CA3d 995, 998, 208 CR 800; Newman v
Newman (1987) 196 CA3d 255, 259, 241 CR 712 (defendant found NGI is
not “convicted” within meaning of CCP 8340.3). Although there is no
California case on point dealing with restitution in NGI cases, other states
have ruled on the issue and concluded that there is no authority to order
restitution in these cases. See State v Heartfield (Ariz 2000) 998 P2d
1080; State v Gile (Or App 1999) 985 P2d 199 (defendant found NGI not
subject to assessment similar to Pen C §1202.4 restitution fine).

h. [883.42] Effect of Acquittal

In a nonprobation context, a restitution order may not be imposed for
a crime of which the defendant has been acquitted. People v Percelle
(2005) 126 CAA4th 164, 178-180, 23 CR3d 731. However, the court may
impose a restitution order as a condition of probation, regardless of
whether the defendant has been convicted of the underlying crime. 126
CA4th at 169.

i. [883.43] Abatement of Restitution Order

If a defendant dies while an appeal is pending from his or her
conviction, the death permanently abates all further proceedings, including
any restitution order. A victim restitution order requires a conviction for
the crime that caused the victim’s loss, and the defendant’s death pending
appeal unquestionably abates the defendant’s underlying convictions.
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People v Schaefer (2012) 208 CA4th 1283, 1287-1288, 146 CR3d 497.
The Schaefer court agreed with the Attorney General that there are strong
policy arguments in favor of excepting a restitution order from an
abatement order, and invited the Legislature to consider the issue. 208
CAA4th at 1288 n3.

2. [883.44] Restitution Under Pen C §1202.4 and Welf & I C
8730.6

Penal Code §1202.4 or its counterpart for juvenile offenders, Welf &
I C 8730.6, apply when all four of the following conditions are present:

(1) a claim by a victim (see 8883.53-83.56.)

(2) who suffered an economic loss (see §883.57-83.69) (victim of
felony violation of Pen C 8288 entitled to restitution for noneconomic
losses (Pen C 81202.4(f)(3)(F); see §83.71).

(3) as a result of the commission of a crime

(4) of which the defendant was convicted (Pen C §1202.4(a)(1); see
People v Carbajal (1995) 10 C4th 1114, 43 CR2d 681; People v Woods
(2008) 161 CA4th 1045, 1049-1053, 74 CR3d 786.

When some of these conditions are not met, the court may have
discretion to order restitution. For discussion, see §§83.99-83.105.

The causal connection embodied in the words “as the result of” in
Pen C §1202.4(f)(3) is indicative of direct causation. But just as in tort
law, the law must impose limitations on liability for victim restitution
other than simple direct causality, or else a defendant will face infinite
liability for his or her criminal acts, no matter how remote the
consequence. People v Jones (2010) 187 CA4th 418, 425-427, 114 CR3d
8. Therefore, the principles of proximate causation should apply to an
award of victim restitution. People v Jones, supra. See also People v
Holmberg (2011) 195 CA4th 1310, 1320-1324, 125 CR3d 878 (proximate
cause analyzed by substantial factor test).

The court must find that the defendant’s conduct was a substantial
factor in causing the injury. It need not, however, be the sole cause. In re
A. M. (2009) 173 CA4th 668, 672-674, 93 CR3d 168 (CALCRIM 240
provides test for determining whether a victim’s economic loss is “a result
of the minor’s conduct” under Welf & | C §730.6).

a. [883.45] Presentence Investigation Report

A probation officer’s presentence investigation report must include
information and recommendations pertaining to restitution fines and
victim restitution. Pen C §1203(b)(2)(D), (d), (g). Specifically, the report
must include:
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* Information concerning the victim of the crime, including the
victim’s statement, the amount of the victim’s loss, and whether
that loss is covered by the victim’s or defendant’s insurance (Cal
Rules of Ct 4.411.5(a)(5); for discussion of the effect of insurance
on restitution awards, see 8§883.72-83.73);

» A statement of mandatory and recommended restitution, restitution
fines, and other fines and costs to be assessed against the defendant
(Cal Rules of Ct 4.411.5(a)(11)); and

* Findings concerning a defendant’s ability to make restitution and
pay any fine (Cal Rules of Ct 4.411.5(a)(8), (11)).

If, as is typical in misdemeanor cases, no probation report is prepared
for sentencing, the court may consider any information that could have
been included in a probation report. Pen C §1203(d).

Financial evaluation. The court may order the defendant to appear
before a county financial evaluation officer, if available, for an evaluation
of the defendant’s ability to make restitution. Pen C §1203(j). The county
officer must report findings regarding restitution and other court-related
costs to the probation officer on the question of the defendant’s ability to
pay those costs. Pen C §1203(j).

b. Hearing
(1) [883.46] Right to Hearing

Defendant. The defendant has the right to a court hearing to dispute
the amount of restitution or the manner in which it is to be made. Pen C
881202.4(f)(1), 1203(d), 1203.1k; People v Carbajal (1995) 10 C4th
1114, 1125, 43 CR2d 681. Juvenile offenders have the same right. Welf &
I C 8§730.6(h)(1). Advisement of this right is a precondition to
enforcement of the restitution order by a victim. Pen C §1214(b); for more
on notice, see §83.47.

Victim. A victim has a right to appear at sentencing personally or by
private counsel to express his or her views regarding restitution. Cal Const
art I, 828(b)(8), (c)(1); Pen C 81191.1. This right also extends to:

» The victim’s spouse, parents, children, or guardian (Cal Const art
I, 828(e); Pen C §1191.1);

» The lawful representative of the victim who is deceased, a minor,
or physically or psychologically incapacitated (Cal Const art I,
§28(e));

* The next of kin of a deceased victim (Pen C 8§1191.1);

* An insurer or employer victimized by workers’ compensation
fraud (Pen C §1191.10);
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» The California Victim Compensation and Government Claims
Board when enforcing its subrogation rights (Pen C §1202.4(f)(2);
see §83.85).

(2) [883.47] Notice

Defendant. The court should inform the defendant of the right to a
hearing to contest restitution. See Pen C §81202.4(f)(1) (right to hearing),
1214(b); People v Carbajal (1995) 10 C4th 1114, 1125, 43 CR2d 681.
The consequences of failing to provide this information differ depending
on whether the court follows the recommendations of the probation report:

» If the court does not order more restitution than the report
recommends, failure to request a hearing waives any error. People
v Foster (1993) 14 CAA4th 939, 949, 18 CR2d 1; People v
Blankenship (1989) 213 CA3d 992, 997, 262 CR 141.

r JUDICIAL TIP: Some judges obtain an express waiver of hearing
when the defendant does not contest restitution. This forestalls
later objections to civil enforcement of the restitution order based
on a lack of hearing.

* However, when the court exceeds the recommendations without
first bringing that prospect to the defendant’s attention and afford-
ing the defendant an opportunity to contest it, the defendant has
been deprived of any meaningful opportunity to be heard. See
People v Sandoval (1989) 206 CA3d 1544, 1550, 254 CR 674. See
also People v Thygesen (1999) 69 CA4th 988, 993, 81 CR2d 886.

w JUDICIAL TIP: When the judge contemplates ordering more
restitution than the probation officer recommended, the judge
should indicate this before making an order and should inquire
whether the defendant desires a hearing.

Victim. The probation officer has the duty to notify the victim of
 All sentencing proceedings or juvenile disposition hearings,
» The right to appear, and

e The right to express his or her views. Pen C 88679.02(a)(3),
1191.1.

The probation officer must also provide the victim with timely
written information concerning the court’s duty to order restitution and the
victim’s

* Right to civil recovery against the defendant;

* Right to a copy of the restitution order from the court;

* Right to enforce the restitution order as a civil judgment;
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* Responsibility to provide information about losses to the probation
department, district attorney, and court; and

» Opportunity to be compensated from the Restitution Fund. Pen C
88679.02(a)(8), 1191.2.

w JUDICIAL TIP: When there is no probation referral, as is often
the case with misdemeanors, the prosecutor should notify the
victim unless the county has another agency in charge of victim
restitution that notifies victims.

In cases of juvenile offenders the obligation to notify is limited to
offenses that would have been felonies if committed by an adult. Pen C
8679.02(a)(4).

The California Emergency Management Agency is required to
develop and make available a “notification of eligibility” card for victims
and derivative victims that includes specified information about eligibility
to receive payment from the Restitution Fund for losses resulting from the
crime. Pen C 81191.21(a). The law enforcement officer with primary
responsibility for investigating the crime and the district attorney may
provide this card to the victim and any derivative victims. Pen C
§1191.21(b).

w JUDICIAL TIP: To spare victims court appearances that are un-
necessary because defendant does not contest restitution, some
judges initially make only uncontested orders. They continue the
case when the defendant plans to challenge restitution; the victim
is invited to attend the continued hearing.

(3) [883.48] Attendance of Prosecutor

The prosecutor must be present at the restitution hearing to advocate
on the People’s behalf and be heard on issues that affect a fair and just
result on the question of victim restitution. People v Dehle (2008) 166
CA4 th 1380, 1386-1389, 83 CR3d 461 (trial court erred in allowing
hearing to go forward without the prosecutor; victim’s private attorney did
not appear on behalf of the People, but solely on behalf of the victim).
Although private counsel may assist a prosecutor (see 8§83.49), the
prosecutor may not delegate a restitution hearing entirely to a private
attorney. 166 CA4th at 1389-1390.

(4) [883.49] Participation of Victim’s Attorney

The victim has a right to have his or her attorney appear at the
restitution hearing and to be heard through counsel on the issue of
restitution. Cal Const art 1, §28(b)(8), (c)(1). The victim’s attorney may
present evidence and argument at the hearing so long as the prosecutor is
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present and has the opportunity to speak if the victim’s or his or her
attorney’s position diverges from the People’s interests. See People v
Smith (2011) 198 CA4th 415, 439-440, 129 C3d 910.

(5) [883.50] Nature of Restitution Hearing

A restitution hearing does not require the formalities of a trial. People
v Hartley (1984) 163 CA3d 126, 130, 209 CR 131. Thus

» Defendant has no Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial on
restitution issues. People v Pangan (2013) 213 CA4th 574, 584-
586, 152 CR3d 632; People v Chappelone (2010) 183 CA4th
1159, 1183-1184, 107 CR3d 895; People v Millard (2009) 175
CA4th 7, 35-36, 95 CR3d 751.

» Defendant has no right to confront and cross-examine witnesses,
including the probation officer who prepared the probation report.
People v Cain (2000) 82 CA4th 81, 86-88, 97 CR2d 836 (no right
to cross-examine psychotherapist whose fees defendant was
ordered to reimburse under Pen C 8273.5(h)(2); trial courts,
however, retain discretion to permit cross-examination on a case-
by-case basis).

» The court may consider the recommendations in the presentence
report despite their hearsay character (People v Cain, supra, 82
CAA4th at 87-88; Pen C §81203(b)(2)(D)(ii), 1203.1k), as long as
the court independently determines the amount of restitution
(People v Hartley, supra).

» The evidentiary requirements for establishing a victim’s economic
losses are minimal. The court is not required to draw sentencing
information “through the narrow net of courtroom evidence rules.”
Rather, the court has virtually unlimited discretion as to the kind of
information it can consider and the source from which it comes.
People v Prosser (2007) 157 CA4th 682, 690-692, 68 CR3d 808
(in determining value of stolen property, court may consider
testimony of victim as to its value, even though testimony was
unsupported by receipts or appraisals, or a detailed description of
each individual stolen piece). See also Pen C 81202.4(f) (court’s
determination of restitution based on the amount of loss claimed
by the victim or victims or any other showing to the court).

» Documentary evidence such as bills, receipts, repair estimates,
insurance payment statements, payroll stubs, business records, and
similar documents relevant to the value of stolen or damaged
property, medical expenses, and wages and profits lost may not be
excluded as hearsay evidence. Pen C §1203.1d(d).
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r JUDICIAL TIP: Restitution hearings should not further victimize
victims by long courtroom waits or multiple hearings. This prob-
lem often arises in misdemeanor cases that involve long calendars
and that lack probation reports. To minimize delays for victims
some judges

— Instruct courtroom clerks to ascertain cases in which victims
are present and call these cases first; and

— Permit victims to present restitution information without
delay when an out-of-custody defendant is absent, on a
determination and finding that defendant’s absence is
voluntary and with knowledge of the hearing. See Pen C
81043 for a similar procedure at trial. Merely asking the
victim to hand papers to the clerk and deferring the restitution
determination may create confusion and an inadequate record.

(6) [883.51] Burden of Proof

The victim must present evidence showing that there were losses and
that the losses were caused by the crime committed by the defendant.
People v Fulton (2003) 109 CA4th 876, 885-886, 135 CR2d 466.

The amount of restitution must be proved by a preponderance of the
evidence. People v Gemelli (2008) 161 CA4th 1539, 1542-1543, 74 CR3d
901. Once the victim makes a prima facie showing of economic losses, the
burden shifts to the defendant to disprove the amount of the claimed
losses. 161 CA4th at 1543. The defendant has the burden of showing that
the restitution recommendation in the probation report or the victims’
estimates are inaccurate. People v Foster (1993) 14 CA4th 939, 946, 18
CR2d 1.

c. [883.52] Ability To Pay

Defendant’s inability to pay cannot be considered in determining the
amount of restitution. Pen C 8§1202.4(Q).

However, ability to pay is vital in two other respects:

(1) At the time of making the restitution order the court needs to
make an ability-to-pay determination in order to decide whether to make
an income deduction order. Pen C 81202.42(a); for discussion, see §83.89.

(2) Ability to pay becomes important if the defendant fails to pay
restitution; it is a precondition to revoking probation or imprisoning
defendant for failure to pay. See, e.g., People v Whisenand (1995) 37
CA4th 1383, 1393, 44 CR2d 501. See §83.84.
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d. Persons Entitled to Restitution
(1) Victims
(a) [883.53] Constitutional Definition of Victim

The California Constitution provides a definition of a victim,
including for purposes of restitution. Under the constitutional definition, a
“victim” is (Cal Const art I, §28(e)):

» A person who suffers direct or threatened physical, psychological,
or financial harm as a result of the commission or attempted com-
mission of a crime or delinquent act.

» The person’s spouse, parents, children, siblings, or guardian.

* A lawful representative of a crime victim who is deceased, a
minor, or physically or psychologically incapacitated. For
discussion of executor’s right to collect restitution on behalf of
deceased victim, see §83.70.

The term “victim” does not include a person in custody for an
offense, the accused, or a person whom the court finds would not act in
the best interests of a minor victim. Cal Const art 1, 828(e).

(b) [883.54] Statutory Definition Under Pen C §1202.4

A “victim” under Pen C §1202.4 is any individual who has suffered
economic loss as a result of the commission of a crime of which the defen-
dant was convicted. Pen C 8§1202.4(a)(1). Other individuals entitled to
restitution under Pen C 81202.4 include:

* The immediate surviving family of the actual victim. Pen C
§1202.4(k)(1).

e Parents and guardians of a victim who is a minor. Pen C
81202.4(f)(3)(D) and (E); for discussion, see 883.61.

* A person who has sustained economic loss as the result of a crime
and who satisfies any of the following conditions (Pen C
81202.4(k)(3)):

— At the time of the crime was the parent, grandparent, sibling,
spouse, child, or grandchild of the victim.
— At the time of the crime was living in the victim’s household.

— At the time of the crime was a person who had previously
lived in the victim’s household for at least two years in a
relationship substantially similar to that of a parent, grand-
parent, sibling, spouse, child, or grandchild.
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— Is another family member of the victim, including, but not
limited to, the victim’s fiancé or fiancée, and who witnessed
the crime.

— Is the primary caretaker of a minor victim.

* A person who is eligible to receive assistance from the Restitution
Fund under the California Victim Compensation Program (Govt C
8813950-13969.7). Pen C §1202.4(Kk)(4).

Although Welf & | C 8730.6, governing restitution in juvenile
delinquency cases, does not contain derivative victims in its definition of
victim as does Pen C §1202.4(k)(3), in light of the constitutional mandates
set for in Cal Const art 1, §28(e) (see §883.70), Welf & 1 C §730.6 must be
interpreted to include derivative victims. In Re Scott H. (2013) 221 CA4th
515, 520-523, 164 CR3d 466 (family members of minor victim of sexual
assault entitled to restitution award for mental health services).

For discussion of restitution payments to the state Restitution Fund,
see §83.85.

A victim of crime does not have to be an individual. A corporation,
business trust, estate, trust, partnership, association, joint venture, govern-
ment and governmental agency, or any other legal or commercial entity
may be entitled to restitution under Pen C §1202.4 if it is a “direct victim”
of a crime, i.e., it is the immediate object of the offense or it is an entity
against which the crime has been committed. Pen C 81202.4(k)(2); People
v Martinez (2005) 36 C4th 384, 393, 30 CR3d 779. For example:

* A water company was entitled to restitution in the amount of
money embezzled by defendant plus penalties and interest assessed
by the IRS resulting from defendant’s failure to pay company’s
payroll taxes. People v Williams (2010) 184 CA4th 142, 147-149,
108 CR3d 772.

* A bank was direct victim, entitled to restitution, when defendant
forged checks drawn on the bank. People v Bartell (2009) 170
CA4th 1258, 1261-1262, 88 CR3d 844.

* A utility company was entitled to restitution for value of illegally
diverted electrical power used in marijuana growing operation.
People v Phu (2009) 179 CA4th 280, 283-285, 101 CR3d 601.

* A bank was entitled to restitution for its losses from a defendant
whose fraudulent transactions affected a deposit holder’s account;
the bank was a direct victim because the bank did not act as an
indemnitor, the bank was the object of the crime, and the defendant
pleaded guilty to “commercial” burglary. People v Saint-Amans
(2005) 131 CA4th 1076, 1084-1087, 32 CR3d 518.
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Compare People v Slattery (2008) 167 CA4th 1091, 1096-1097, 84
CR3d 672 (hospital that treated victim injured by criminal conduct is not a
direct victim).

w JUDICIAL TIP: Caution is advisable when counsel refers to
statutes other than Pen C §1202.4 for the purpose of defining who
is a victim. See, e.g., a narrower definition in Govt C §813951(c),
(9), 13955, dealing with persons entitled to compensation from
the Restitution Fund, and Pen C §1191.10. These definitions do
not limit who qualifies as a victim under Pen C §1202.4. See, e.g.,
People v Broussard (1993) 5 C4th 1067, 1077, 22 CR2d 1078
(persons entitled to restitution not limited to those who qualify for
assistance from Restitution Fund); People v Valdez (1994) 24
CA4th 1194, 1199, 30 CR2d 4.

(2) [883.55] Governmental Agencies

A governmental agency may be a direct victim of the defendant’s
crime under Pen C 81202.4(k)(2). For example, a defrauded governmental
agency is a direct victim entitled to restitution for its losses. See People v
Crow (1993) 6 C4th 952, 957, 26 CR2d 1 (welfare fraud); People v Akins
(2005) 128 CAA4th 1376, 1385-1389, 27 CR3d 815 (welfare fraud);
People v Hudson (2003) 113 CA4th 924, 927-930, 7 CR3d 114
(discussion of how to calculate restitution to defrauded government
agency). See also In re Johnny M.